Thursday, September 9, 2010

Former University of Albany Star Dave Brock Selected in National Lacrosse League Draft's First Round - UAlbany Sports 2010

Toronto, Ontario - Former University at Albany standout Dave Brock was chosen in the first round of the National League Lacrosse Entry Draft by the Boston Blazers on Wednesday, Sept. 8 at Westin Harbour Castle. Brock, the seventh overall selection, was also taken in the sixth round of the Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft last June.

"It's an honor to be selected in the first round; there a lot of good players out there," said Brock, who became the fourth UAlbany player to be drafted in the NLL's first round. "(UAlbany coach) Scott Marr helped get me to this point. He is a very knowledgeable and positive guy. He helped me on and off the field and how to become a leader and a better player."

Brock earned second-team All-America East Conference honors during the 2010 campaign. Positioned as both an attackman and midfielder in his two-year UAlbany career, Brock was also named to last year's America East all-championship squad after leading his team to the conference tournament final. He ranked sixth in the conference in goals (2.12 pg) and 10th in scoring at 2.50 points per game.

Brock led the Great Danes in scoring with 34 goals and six assists to share the team's MVP award, plus had a .301 shooting percentage and 37 ground balls. A native of Burlington, Ontario, Brock netted three or more goals six times as a senior, including a career-high four against league opponents Hartford and UMBC. He accounted for a career-best four points against five teams.

UAlbany's Corey Small was taken with the first round's ninth pick in last year's NLL Draft. Merrick Thomson and Frank Resetarits were first-round choices in the 2007 NLL Draft. Mike Ammann, Steve Ammann and Jordan Levine were all selected in 2008.


UAlbany's National Lacrosse League Draft Selections
Frank Resetarits (2007, San Jose-1st)
Merrick Thomson (2007, Philadelphia-1st)
Mike Ammann (2008, New York-5th)
Steve Ammann (2008, New York-3rd)
Jordan Levine (2008, Philadelphia-4th)
Corey Small (2009, Edmonton-1st)
Dave Brock (2010, Boston-1st)

Courtesy: UAlbany Sports Information

No comments:

Web Site Hit Counters
Precision M4300