Thursday, November 18, 2010

University of Albany's Coppiellie and Gonzalez Earn Major America East Conference Volleyball Awards - UAlbany Sports 2010

Cambridge, Mass. - Teresa Coppiellie was named the 2010 America East Conference Volleyball Player of the Year, while Laurie Gonzalez claimed her third straight defensive specialist of the year honor, as announced by the league office on Thursday afternoon. Junior Casey Wright was also named to the all-conference first team to round out the UAlbany award recipients.

Coppiellie, an outside hitter from Canton, Mich., also made her second straight appearance on the all-conference first team. She became the third consecutive UAlbany player to earn the conference's top award after averaging 3.49 kills and 3.18 digs per set with a .231 hitting percentage. She accumulated 46 total blocks, including 20 solo, and added 24 service aces. Coppiellie stood at the top of the league standings during conference play, averaging 4.17 kills per set. Coppiellie, who recorded 13 double-doubles as a senior, tallied a career-high 21 kills against New Hampshire and 19 digs versus Colgate.

Gonzalez nabbed her third defensive specialist of the year honor after leading the conference, averaging 5.13 digs per set. She recorded double-digit digs in every America East match this season and reached the 20-dig plateau 12 times. Gonzalez, a native of Carolina, Puerto Rico, registered a season-best 31 digs in a four-set match against Yale and finished with 30 against Alabama-Birmingham. She also led the team with 32 service aces, which ranked her fourth in the conference standings.

Wright, who hails from Ballston Spa, N.Y., earned the first all-conference award of her career, taking home first team honors. She led the Great Danes and was first in the conference with a .346 hitting percentage, while also averaging 3.44 kills and 1.05 blocks per set. Wright recorded a career-best 25 kills against McNeese State and had a season high with nine total blocks versus Bowling Green.

UAlbany (20-7, AE 10-2) will host the America East Conference Championship Tournament at University Gym, starting Friday at 4 p.m. The Great Danes will play Stony Brook in the second semifinal match starting at 7 p.m.


2010 America East Volleyball All-Conference Teams

First Team: Teresa Coppiellie, UAlbany; Casey Wright, UAlbany; Anna Lejina, Binghamton; Michelle McDonough, Binghamton; Sabrina Hoeks, UMBC; Ashley Headen, Stony Brook; Alicia Nelson, Stony Brook.

Second Team: Laurie Gonzalez, UAlbany; Lindsay Ford, Hartford; Kami Nethersole, Hartford; Allie Spaay, UMBC; Sara Heldman, New Hampshire; Amy Keding, New Hampshire; Lauren Fletcher, Providence.

All-Rookie: Xiomara Ortiz, Binghamton; Dionna Kirton, Hartford; Hallie Carter, UMBC; Ali Goc, UBMC; Destiny Tolliver, New Hampshire; Kaitlin Costello, Stony Brook; Evann Slaughter, Stony Brook.

Player of the Year: Teresa Coppiellie, UAlbany

Setter of the Year: Sara Heldman, New Hampshire

Defensive Specialist of the Year: Laurie Gonzalez, UAlbany

Rookie of the Year: Evann Slaughter, Stony Brook

Coach of the Year: Don Ferguson, Hartford

Courtesy: UAlbany Sports Information

No comments:

Web Site Hit Counters
Precision M4300