Wednesday, November 3, 2010

University of Albany Field Hockey's Troch & McConville Claim Two Major America East Conference Awards - UAlbany Sports 2010

Cambridge, Mass. - University at Albany's Kristi Troch was named the America East Conference Goalkeeper of the Year to highlight five all-conference honorees and two major award winners as announced by the league on Wednesday afternoon. Freshman Corrine McConville was named the conference's rookie of the year after helping the Great Danes reach the America East championship tournament for the sixth consecutive year.

Troch, who anchored a UAlbany defense that finished second in the conference in goals allowed (1.44), also helped the Great Danes to a league-leading seven shutouts over the season. Troch, who was named the league's player of the week once this season, led the America East with a 1.14 goals against average and a .818 save percentage. McConville becomes UAlbany's second-ever rookie of the year winner, and also earned all-conference second team accolades. She led the conference in shots and was also ranked in the top ten in goals, after scoring eight in her rookie season.

Defender Taylor Luke and forward Christina Patrick joined Troch on the all-conference first team. Luke finished second in the conference standings with five defensive saves while Patrick was tied for third in goals (13) and points (33) and was fifth in assists (7). Suzy Clephane, the 2009 America East defensive player of the year, earned all-conference second-team honors after ranking among the league's best with seven assists. Freshman Daphne Voormolen joined classmate McConville on the all-rookie squad. She scored nine goals on the season.

UAlbany (13-5, AE 4-1) will take on Boston U. on Friday at 5:30 p.m. in the second semifinal game of the America East Conference Field Hockey Championship in Durham, N.H. The Great Danes, who are ranked No. 15 nationally, won a 2-1 decision over the Terriers in the regular season with a shootout victory at home on Oct. 24.


2010 America East Field Hockey All-Conference Teams
First Team: Taylor Luke, UAlbany; Christina Patrick, UAlbany; Kristi Troch, UAlbany; Allie Dolce, Boston U.; Jacinda McLeod, Boston U.; Nicole van Oosterom, Boston U.; Kelly Newton, Maine; Stephanie Gardiner, Maine; Kara Connolly, New Hampshire; Whitney Frates, New Hampshire; Kyle Lyons, New Hampshire.

Second Team: Suzy Clephane, UAlbany; Corinne McConville, UAlbany; Andrea Greene, Boston U.; Kate Murphy, Boston U.; Marit Westenberg, Fairfield; Maire Dineen, Maine; Jocelyn Mitchell, Maine; Kendall Deck, New Hampshire; Hayley Rausch, New Hampshire; Alana Izzo, Vermont; Brittany Fleck, Maine.

All-Rookie Team: Corinne McConville, UAlbany; Daphne Voormolen, UAlbany; Madeline Hackett, Boston U.; Ysabel Schieb, Boston U.; Kat Spring, Boston U.; Shealyn Testa, Fairfield; Alexa Binnendijk, Maine; Megan Bozek, New Hampshire; Casey Pohlmeyer, New Hampshire; Tori Welch, New Hampshire; Sally Snickenberger, Vermont.

Coaching Staff of the Year: New Hampshire

Rookie of the Year: Corrine McConville, UAlbany

Goalkeeper of the Year: Kristi Troch, UAlbany

Midfielder of the Year: Nicole van Oosterom, Boston U.

Defender of the Year: Jacinda McLeod, Boston U.

Offensive Player of the Year: Kelly Newton, Maine

Courtesy: UAlbany Sports Information

No comments:

Web Site Hit Counters
Precision M4300