Tuesday, February 12, 2008

University of Albany Men's Lacrosse Picked to Capture 2008 America East Conference Championship

Courtesy: UAlbany Sports Information

Cambridge, Mass. – After reaching the NCAA quarterfinal round last year, the University at Albany is the unanimous choice to capture the 2008 America East Conference championship, as voted by the league’s head coaches in a preseason poll on Tuesday, Feb. 12. UAlbany is coming off a season in which the program won its fourth America East title in the last five years.

The Great Danes, who begin their schedule on Saturday, Feb. 23 against top-ranked Johns Hopkins on ESPNU, return 24 letterwinners off last year’s school-record 15-3 team. Tewaaraton Trophy candidate Jordan Levine is the top returning scorer with 23 goals and 16 assists. Levine, who set the school’s Division I record with 91 ground balls, earned second-team USILA All-America recognition in 2007. Brett Queener, an honorable mention All-America goalkeeper, had a 9.68 goals against average with a .520 save percentage.

Head coach Scott Marr, the 2007 USILA Division I National Coach of the Year, will continue to play an up-tempo style despite losing two of the program’s all-time scorers. Corey Small, a left-handed attacker, had 24 goals and seven assists, while feeder Derek Dale totaled 20 goals and 18 assists. Brian Caufield, one of the nation’s top incoming freshmen, figures to move right into the first attack line.

Craig McDonald, a first-team all-conference selection, is a member of a veteran defensive group. Mike and Steve Ammann, twin brothers who were second-team all-league midfielders, elevated their play last season.

The 2008 America East Championship will be held on May 1 and 3 at the No. 1 seed’s home facility.


2008 America East Conference Men’s Lacrosse Poll

1. Albany (5), 25, 2. UMBC (1), 19, 3. Binghamton 17, 4. Stony Brook 14, 5. Vermont 8, 6. Hartford 7.

No comments:

Web Site Hit Counters
Precision M4300