Friday, May 29, 2009

University of Albany's Ashley Ross Chosen One of Three Finalists For 2009 America East Woman of the Year - UAlbany Sports 2009

Courtesy: UAlbany Sports Information

Cambridge, Mass. -- University at Albany’s Ashley Ross, a member of the school’s field hockey and lacrosse programs, has been named one of three finalists for the 2009 America East Woman of the Year Award, as announced on Wednesday, May 27 by Commissioner Patrick Nero. Boston University’s Christy Leath (softball) and University of Vermont’s Kristen Millar (lacrosse) were also chosen. The honor recognizes the conference’s senior female student-athlete who has best distinguished herself throughout her collegiate career in the area of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership.

The three finalists were selected from a pool of 11 America East institutional nominations. To be nominated, student-athletes must have earned a varsity letter in an NCAA-sponsored sport and competed during the 2008-09 academic year, completed intercollegiate athletic eligibility in her primary sport by the end of the 2009 spring season or received her undergraduate degree prior to the conclusion of the summer 2009 term and have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.500 (4.000 scale). The America East Woman of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, June 9.

Ross received an ECAC Merit Medal as UAlbany’s top senior female student-athlete during the current academic year. A three-time All-America East performer in field hockey, Ross was named the conference championship’s most outstanding player when she led the program to both its first America East title and NCAA Tournament appearance. The goalkeeper is field hockey’s all-time leader in saves (318) and shutouts (15).

Ross, who has a 3.70 cumulative grade point average in communication, was selected to NFCHA national academic squad in each of her four years and was also honored on the America East All-Academic Team. A member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), she served on the SAAC Executive Committee. In addition, Ross received the school’s James E. Lowe ’82 Memorial Scholarship.

In conjunction with the changes in the nomination process for the NCAA Woman of the Year, the America East Woman of the Year award was established in the 2005-06 athletic season. Beginning in 2006, the NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics (CWA) started receiving conference-designated nominees in lieu of the previous institution- and state-based nomination format.

The America East Woman of the Year will be forwarded to the NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee. The selection committee will select the top 10 winners in each NCAA division (I, II and III). From among those 30 honorees, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the CWA will vote from among the top nine to determine the 2009 NCAA Woman of the Year.

No comments:

Web Site Hit Counters
Precision M4300