Monday, April 13, 2009

University of Albany Spring Football Game Scheduled for Sat. April 18 at University Field, Kickoff at 10:15 AM - UAlbany FCS Football

Courtesy: UAlbany Sports Information

Albany, N.Y. – The 2009 University at Albany football Spring Game is scheduled for Saturday, April 18 at University Field. The Purple-Gold intrasquad scrimmage is set to kick off at 10:15 a.m. The contest will be played in four 12-minute quarters.

All-America tailback David McCarty, who rushed for a single-season record 1,852 yards and 13 touchdowns last year, leads the Purple team Free safety Dave Casale and inside linebacker Justin Brancaccio are among five returning first-team all-conference players.

Quarterback Vinny Esposito, who passed for 1,934 yards and 13 scores and ran for 10 TDs, leads the Gold squad. All-conference standout Eddie Delaney anchors the defensive line.

Bob Ford, who is first among active FCS coaches with 234 career victories and is a three-time Northeast Conference coach of the year, has 48 letterwinners, including 14 starters, back from last year's team. UAlbany (9-3) won its fourth NEC championship and defeated Jacksonville in third annual Gridiron Classic.

Paw Prints: Former UAlbany quarterback Ryan Roeder has been hired as the University of Rhode Island’s wide receivers coach ... Roeder, who spent the previous three years as an assistant at Temple University, led the Great Danes to their first NEC championship in 2002 and an ECAC Classic victory over previously unbeaten Duquesne ... He earned first-team All-NEC honors after passing for 1,366 yards and eight touchdowns as a senior ...

Purple Roster


QB: 2 Frank Blasinsky, 5 Buddy Leathley, 10 Andrew Smith
FB/TE: 46 Justin Petersen, 49 Paul Booker, 84 John Cunningham
TB: 3 David McCarty, 34 Duane Harper, 47 Ben Carl
WR: 1 Tim Bush, 20 William Laird, 23 Nick Hutcherson, 45 Ryan McCloskey, 80 Luke Weaver, 87 John Lullen
OL: 64 Vince Gonzales, 65 Eldred Richards, 66 Matt Faughnan, 70 Justin Anderson, 75 Kevin Richards, 78 Andrew Stevens


DL: 56 Marc Wargo, 63 Michael Longo, 91 Trevor Anderson, 94 Robinson Louis, 97 Tony Sparano, 99 Wil Moushey
ILB: 40 Chris Bright, 48 Edson Appleton, 54 Justin Brancaccio, 57 Chris Wilk
OLB: 50 Rich Duff, 53 Alfred Pleasure, 60 Marc Holloway
CB: 16 Eugene Horan, 18 Ross Bertrand, 44 Nick Crockett
S: 4 T.J. Kennedy, 31 Dave Casale, 32 George Williams, 36 Justin Hassan

Gold Roster


QB: 7 Vinny Esposito, 12 Dan Di Lellla
FB/TE: 25 Chris Kenneally, 83 Denny Wilhelm
TB: 26 Justin Gannon, 40 Everett Tune
WR: 8 Devin Wooten, 14 Ryan Kirchner, 82 Dan Cuozzo, 85 Jason Poore, 86 Bryon King

OL: 55 Kyle O’Keefe, 61 Chaz Mitchell, 62 Andy Sparano, 71 Keith Peifer, 72 Dave Roberts, 77 Jordan Migliore, 79 Anthony Bazzoffi,


DL: 65 Ocieka Bakou, 81 Griff Courtney, 90 Mike Kelly, 92 Bennett Marquis, 95 Zach Gallo, 96 Eddie Delaney

ILB: 6 Chris Van Zelfden, 24 Nick Payne, 51 Chris Simpson, 59 Dave Plungas
OLB: 30 Chris Blais, 41 Alfred Pryor, 52 Jon Morgan, 43 Raymond Dorcely
CB: 19 Daniel Avery, 29 Chris Oganda, 37 Kareem Cooper
S: 27 Jeff Benway, 28 Emerson Kinsey, 39 Hillain Hector, 58 Jake Ciccarello

Kickers: 13 Herb Glass, 17 Bobby Woods, 68 Sean Kenny, 98 Andrew Bartholomew

No comments:

Web Site Hit Counters
Precision M4300