Friday, February 17, 2006

UAlbany Men's Indoor Track Capture 2006 AE Championship

The Albany men finished the meet with 193 points, while UMBC (148) and the University of New Hampshire (127.50) finished at second and third, respectively. In fourth place was Boston University with 100 points, followed by Binghamton University (86.50)and University of Maine (50). Stony Brook University (30), University of Vermont (22) and University of Hartford(20)rounded out the nine-team field.

On the women's side, Boston University (195) took the meet over second-place Albany (165.50) by 30.5 points. Maine (91) and New Hampshire (84.50) finished third and fourth, respectively. They were followed by UMBC(84), Binghamton (71), Vermont (53), Stony Brook (33) and Hartford (3).

Boston U.’s Robyn Jonhnson was named coach of the year for the women, while UMBC’s David Bobb won the award for the men.

Albany's Andrew Allstadt captured the 3,000-meter run title with a time of 8:25.28. Allstadt went on to win the 5,000-meter crown with an ECAC qualifying time of 14:26.99. Allstadt's efforts were rewarded by being named the 2006 America East Track Performer of the Year and the winner of the Coaches Award, given to the athlete who scores the most points for his team.

Other champions for Albany were Pat Weider in the 200-meter (21.77), Gered Burns in the 800 (1:52.22), the 4x800 relay made up by Jared Jupin, Ricardo Estremera, Joseph Belokopitsky and Burns. For field events, Kamar Elliot took the titled in the triple jump with a leap of 48-10.75.

The Boston U. women started out with a first in the mile with Abby Sadowski breaking an America East record from 1995 with a time of 4:51.97. The previous record was held by Boston U.'s Christine Stief (4:44.98). Sadowski went on to capture the 1,000-meter crown with a time of 2:51.10. Sadowski finished the meet by anchoring the winning distance medley relay (11:42.16), that broke the previous America East standard from 2003. Sadowski was named the America East Track Performer of the Year for her efforts. Teammates Marisa Ryan, Erin Cadden and Claire Robson ran the other three legs of the 4x800 relay.

Boston U.'s Ryan also took first in the 3,000-meter with a record breaking time of 9:40.21. Fellow Terrier Andrea Walkonen contributed to the record breaking by taking the 5,000-meter race with a time of 16:13.80, over 14 seconds faster than the previous America East standard. High jumper Nikki Hill won the event for the Terriers with a jump of 5'05.75", while Tahari James won the long jump with a 19" leap. James would go on to win the triple jump crown by jumping 40"04.25. James was named the Field Performer of the Year and also won the coaches award for gathering the most points.

Albany’s Joe Greene placed second in the 400-meter (48.50) and was on the second place 4x400 relay to help him earn the Rookie of the Year award. Vermont’s Jan Carlson took the 55-meter dash title with a time of 7.283, fifth in the 200-meter (25.28) and was named Rookie of the Year on the women’s side. Binghamton’s Hasani Hampden won the heptathlon with 4,910 points and placed second in the 55-hurdles (7.72). and was named Field Performer of the Year.

No comments:

Web Site Hit Counters
Precision M4300