Friday, April 29, 2016

University of Albany Men's Lacrosse's Connor Fields, Blaze Riorden Honored as 2016 Tewaaraton Nominees - UAlbany Sports 2016

WASHINGTON – UAlbany men’s lacrosse players Connor Fields and Blaze Riorden have been selected as 2016 Tewaaraton nominees, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced on Friday night. Fields and Riorden are two of 25 male 2016 Tewaaraton Nominees for the player of the year trophy. The male and female nominees were announced on ESPNU at halftime during the first game of the ACC Tournament semifinals. Fields and Riorden each become Tewaaraton nominees for the first time in their collegiate careers. UAlbany has had at least one Tewaaraton nominee each of the past four seasons. Lyle Thompson was a nominee from 2013-15 while Miles Thompson was in 2014. The pair of brothers shared the Tewaaraton Trophy in 2014 while Lyle was selected for the trophy outright in 2015. Going into the weekend, Fields stand fifth in Division I with 4.77 points per game. The sophomore attack leads UAlbany with 62 points, off 36 goals and 26 assists, and has 150 points in his career. This season, he has had seven games with at least five points and three with eight. Riorden is second in all of DI in save percentage at 59.1% and third in saves per game with 13 a contest. The senior goalkeeper has started every game for UAlbany, allowing 9.2 goals per game. He has saved at least 14 shots in eight games including victories over Yale, Harvard and Cornell. The list of 25 will be narrowed to five finalists on May 12th. Those five finalists will be invited to the 16th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington D.C. on June 2nd.

No comments:

Web Site Hit Counters
Precision M4300