Friday, December 21, 2012

University of Albany's Men's Basketball's Mike Black Nominated For 2012-13 Bob Cousy Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass.- Senior guard Mike Black has been nominated by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame as a 2013 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award nominee on Thursday, Dec. 20. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men's college basketball. Over 80 candidates have been nominated for the 2013 Bob Cousy Award. Black has had successful career through his first three seasons at the University at Albany. He has been honored as a member of the America East Conference All-Rookie Team in 2009-10, All-Conference Third Team in 2010-11, and an All-Conference Second Team in 2011-12. This season, the Chicago Ill. native was picked as a 2012-13 Preseason All-Conference nominee by the America East and has proven as a worthy candidate through the first 11 games. The senior captain guard is averaging his highest point total (17.5 points per game) to begin the season and has helped lead the Great Danes to their best 11-game start (9-2) since entering Division I. Currently, Black is among the best in scoring nationally with a ranking of 76th. This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 around January 1st, final 10 near February 1st, and final five by approximately March 1st. A premier Selection Committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation's top collegiate point guard award. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Championship Monday in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend. Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year's recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina). For more information on the 2013 Bob Cousy, log onto

1 comment:

David Williams said...

Totally agree. To mix-and-match.. I feel it is a great idea and smart way to get satisfactory results. - We can wait a different 2013. The things are not as terrible. Really this is the basketball and somethings like these can happen. Successes for you..

Web Site Hit Counters
Precision M4300